And so it has begun, the count down to Christmas. Preparations are well under way for a Merry Christmas. I’m trying to choose a less stress, less expense, more Jesus holiday but it’s not always easiest to make these choices. It’s hard to turn down invitations, and fun oportunities. It’s hard not to get hyped up with the gift giving and shopping and I have to admit some guilt about my humble gifts for my family, and wonder if they will be apprciated. There is decorating to be done, baking, wrapping, meal preparations, Christmas cards, parties, parades …and the rest of the world still happens, bills to pay, cleaning to do, diapers to change, meals to make, kids to raise, not to mention my renos that need completing :).

Is this what ‘preparation’ is all about?

Silent Night…Holy Night…All is calm…All is bright…

As I reread Luke 2 I realize, no ‘special’ preparations were made for Jesus’ birth. They did as they were told and traveled to Bethlehem dispite Mary’s condition. Upon arrival there was no Inn booking (or maybe they were just over booked!) there was no plan. “While they were there, the time came for her to deliver her child. And she gave birth to her firstborn son and wrapped him in bands of cloth, and laid him in a manger, because there was no place for them in the inn.” Simple. One of the most important events in the story of mankind and it was retold in a few lines.

There weren’t  trays of baking awaiting the wise men in the freezer, she did not run around making party plans, instead “she treasured all these words and pondered them in her heart.” “Good news of great joy for all people: to you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, who is the Messiah, the Lord.”

Please don’t misunderstand me. I am into the Christmas parties, and fun, but I don’t want it to overshadow the true meaning of Christmas, I want to choose wisely so that I don’t get consumed. I want to carve out space for reflection and some fun with family and friends. I want to spend time pondering, and focusing on what Christmas really means. “Amen, come Lord Jesus.”